ferewire.blogg.se

Men without hats the safety dance collection
Men without hats the safety dance collection






men without hats the safety dance collection men without hats the safety dance collection men without hats the safety dance collection

McDaniel had previously helped Olsen perfect the audio of live-stream at-home performances during the pandemic. We’d spend a good amount of time going through sounds before finding one or two, sometimes we’d get real weird and decide to just go with it. I’d come over to find Adam had set up five or so synthesizers, and we’d get lost on a part for a while messing with some obscure pedal I knew nothing about. “I thought about completely changing some of the songs and turning them inside out. I needed to laugh and have fun and be a little less serious about the recording process in general,” says Olsen.

men without hats the safety dance collection

“I told Adam I had an idea to record some covers and bring some of the band into the mix, or add other players. Olsen recorded the EP in the winter of 2020 with co-producer and engineer Adam McDaniel at Asheville’s Drop of Sun Studios. “I know it’s not really in my history to do something unintentional or just for the hell of it,” says Olsen in a press release, “but my connection to these songs is pretty straightforward, I just wanted to have a little fun and be a little more spontaneous, and I think I needed to remember that I could!” Aisles also features covers of songs by OMD, Billy Idol, and Alphaville. Previously Olsen shared the EP’s first single, an impassioned and slowed down take on Laura Branigan’s 1982 disco classic “Gloria.” Like all best cover versions, Olsen completely transformed the original song and brilliantly made it her own. “It made me wonder, is it safe to laugh or dance or be free of it all for just a moment?” “I felt this song could be reinterpreted to be about the time of quarantine and the fear of being around anyone or having too much fun,” says Olsen in a press release. Now she has shared its second single, a cover of Men Without Hats’ 1982 classic “The Safety Dance.” (Olsen’s version removes the “The” from the song’s name, so it’s simply “Safety Dance.”) Listen below, followed by the original version of the song. Angel Olsen is releasing a new EP, Aisles, which features covers of five 1980s songs, on August 20 via Olsen’s new Jagjaguwar imprint somethingscosmic (with a physical release on September 24).








Men without hats the safety dance collection